Difference between pages "E.M. Lundgren Funeral Home" and "Addison Gallery of American Art"

From Andover Answers
(Difference between pages)
Jump to: navigation, search
 
 
Line 1: Line 1:
== E.M. Lundgren Funeral Home ==
+
Built in 1931 on the campus of Phillips Academy, the Addison Gallery of American Art was the first gallery devoted entirely to American Art. The museum owns approximately 1500 paintings. In 2007, plans are underway to increase the size of the gallery by 60%. More museum space, storage and a library will be added from part of a $5 million donation by former student Thomas Israel.
The E.M. Lundgren Funeral Home opened in 1913 at 1 Elm Street according to ''Andover, A Century of Change, 1896-1996''.  It moved to 18 Elm Street several years later and was operated by Malcolm E. Lundgren and Donald E. Lundgren (Andover & North Andover Directory 1953).  The last time the business is listed in the directory was 1984. The funeral directors at that time were Malcolm E. Lundgren, R. George Caron and John D. Caron.
+
 
+
In 1984, 18 Elm Street became the restaurant, "The Duck of Andover."  In 1985, it became "Rembrandt's" restaurant.  In 1995, it became Palmers Restaurant (http://palmers-restaurant.com/).  Source: Kathy McKenna, Town Clerk's Office.
+
  
 +
See
  
 +
*"Celebrating the Andovers: Addison exhibit shows how two towns influenced American artists," ''Eagle Tribune'', November 3, 1995, page 13.
 +
*''$5 Million to Boost Phillips, Addison" ''Andover Townsman'', February 8, 2007, page 1+.
 +
*"No longer a lady in waiting", ''The Andover Townsman'', January 14, 2010.
 +
*"Chihuly 'Floats' join Addison's new roof", ''The Andover Townsman'', August 12, 2010.
 +
*"Addison reopening awaited", ''The Andover Townsman'', August 12, 2010.
 +
*"Addison no longer a still life", ''The Andover Townsman'', September 2, 2010.
 +
*"Town gem reset", The Andover Townsman'', September 9, 2010.
 +
*"Addison reopening party this Saturday", ''The Andover Townsman'', September 23, 2010.
 +
*Addison Gallery is Back in Swing at Age 80. ''Andover Townsman'' October 13, 2011, p.10.
  
 
<br style="clear:both;" />
 
<br style="clear:both;" />
  
--[[User:Kim|Kim]] 10:38, July 21, 2011 (EDT)
+
--[[User:Glenda|Glenda]] 14:31, February 9, 2007 (EST)<!-- insert signature here, if desired -->
 +
 
 
back to [[Main Page|Main Page]]
 
back to [[Main Page|Main Page]]
 
[[Category:Andover Answers Index]]
 
[[Category:Andover Answers Index]]

Revision as of 16:06, 18 December 2015

Built in 1931 on the campus of Phillips Academy, the Addison Gallery of American Art was the first gallery devoted entirely to American Art. The museum owns approximately 1500 paintings. In 2007, plans are underway to increase the size of the gallery by 60%. More museum space, storage and a library will be added from part of a $5 million donation by former student Thomas Israel.

See

  • "Celebrating the Andovers: Addison exhibit shows how two towns influenced American artists," Eagle Tribune, November 3, 1995, page 13.
  • $5 Million to Boost Phillips, Addison" Andover Townsman, February 8, 2007, page 1+.
  • "No longer a lady in waiting", The Andover Townsman, January 14, 2010.
  • "Chihuly 'Floats' join Addison's new roof", The Andover Townsman, August 12, 2010.
  • "Addison reopening awaited", The Andover Townsman, August 12, 2010.
  • "Addison no longer a still life", The Andover Townsman, September 2, 2010.
  • "Town gem reset", The Andover Townsman, September 9, 2010.
  • "Addison reopening party this Saturday", The Andover Townsman, September 23, 2010.
  • Addison Gallery is Back in Swing at Age 80. Andover Townsman October 13, 2011, p.10.


--Glenda 14:31, February 9, 2007 (EST)

back to Main Page